IT Service Management (ITSM)

What is IT Service Management?

IT Service Management (often abbreviated as ITSM) is an approach that describes how IT is managed and delivered in an organization. The concept of ITSM assumes that all IT is provided as a service. The goal of IT Service Management is to find the most efficient combination of people, processes and technology that will best help an organization or business meet its needs.

How does IT Service Management work?

IT Service Management (ITSM) brings together policies and processes to implement and manage high-quality IT services in the enterprise. It helps to meet the requirements of the company. By defining and controlling IT services, service quality increases. Thus, ITSM provides the best possible support between the IT department and the business processes.

IT Service Management is based on the ITIL framework. It thus relies on tried-and-tested standards to design services and processes efficiently. This framework is primarily used to model processes. The special feature: ITSM adapts to your processes, not vice-versa. As a rule, existing processes are optimised through the introduction of IT Service Management. And this is done by all areas of the company.

ITSM helps to align IT goals with the company’s objectives and customer benefits. A central point of IT Service Management is the continuous improvement of structures and processes.

Advantages of an IT Service Management

The introduction of IT Service Management in your company gives you many advantages. Above all, it ensures the smooth running of processes and the quality and availability of IT services.

A detailed view of the ITSM benefits:

  • IT services and the associated processes become transparent.
  • The availability of services is greatly increased.
  • Clearly defined processes ensure the performance and availability of (automated) IT services.
  • Defined roles and responsibilities. Everyone in the company knows who is responsible for which tasks. This creates efficiency.
  • The IT department becomes more deeply involved in the company. It knows what is needed and why.
  • Standardised processes improve collaboration between departments. This leads to greater efficiency and thus to increased productivity.
  • Faults are detected and rectified much more quickly. This saves costs and sustainably increases customer satisfaction.
  • The introduction of an ITSM is an indispensable step with a view to ISO 20000 & ISO 27001 certification.
  • By defining IT services, you are able to compare them and, if necessary, replace them with more cost-effective components. This makes it possible to achieve an audit of the IT services and a reduction of costs.
  • Through the continuous improvement of services and processes, the company becomes significantly more efficient. It gains an advantage over the competition.

With efficient IT Service Management, IT services are kept available, efficient and increase the satisfaction of your customers and employees.

ITSM for a competitive advantage with real value creation.

The portfolio of IT services is growing steadily. New requirements are being placed on IT departments, which must realise and fulfill them at a rapid pace. The components (e.g. contracts, people, systems, service providers, etc.) that make up the implemented services in the end are unknown. Through ITSM, you actively deal with the services offered.

By using monitoring and discovery tools, faults are detected more quickly. Recovery times become shorter. Business-critical processes are kept up and running. With an efficient ITSM, the elimination of a malfunction is started before it can be noticed by the users.

Faster and better than the competition. A goal that is often mentioned when customer satisfaction is to be increased. With IT Service Management, you improve both the internal and external communication. You summarise information and reduce processing times for requests through standardised processes.

By combining efficient tools, you can implement IT Service Management quickly and easily.

Deckblatt ITSM - Eine Einführung in die Welt des IT Service Management

An introduction to the world of IT Service Management

You’ve heard of ITSM, but don’t know what it actually means? Then this whitepaper is exactly what you need. In this first of three parts in the ITSM series, we’ll show you what ITSM is all about and demonstrate the benefits it brings. You’ll learn the prerequisites for introducing IT Service Management and which steps are necessary.

Tools for IT Service Management

When selecting an ITSM tool, we would like to emphasise one rule: ITSM cannot be implemented by using a single software. You will quickly realise: Uniting different systems has more advantages than using a single solution. Why?

You will find systems on the market that combine all the necessary components. The advantage is clear: you maintain one solution and have one point of contact when you need support. The decisive disadvantage: you have to rely on a single manufacturer.

If there are problems in one of the components, the entire system is affected. And if one of the components doesn’t meet your requirements, in the worst case you’ll be forced to replace the entire system. The demands on IT are changing rapidly. It is advantageous to ensure maximum flexibility.

If you implement a solution from individual systems, you gain independence and flexibility. If a solution does not meet your requirements, you replace it. The rest of your ITSM tool continues to run unaffected. Each individual application is optimally aligned to its area, since each manufacturer has invested its entire know-how in this system. 

Each solution unfolds its full potential. You have professional tools at your disposal, which together represent a setup that is fit for the future. ITSM cannot be realized with a single solution, but is made up of various tools that are leaders in their respective disciplines.

The CMDB

This is the core of the entire ITSM tool. It contains all the information about the assets: technical data, services, people, documents and much more. All information is linked to further information by dependencies and relationships. All other components of the ITSM solution access or update the data in the CMDB. Information from the CMDB can also be transferred to third-party systems.

IT and Service Monitoring

Systematic monitoring of important networks and systems in real time is essential. If you detect faults and failures immediately through powerful monitoring, you can react quickly and ensure the availability of systems and services. Ideally, you fix a fault before users even notice it.

Network discovery

Network discovery is the tool of choice for providing the initial data for IT documentation. All the components connected to the network are automatically detected. Important information such as installed software, serial numbers and IP addresses is provided immediately. The manual effort required for documentation is eliminated to a large extent. Later, during operation, you will appreciate the fact that you do not have to manually maintain information about software and licences used.

The Service Desk

Wouldn’t it be great if a customer support employee automatically had all the information about a process at their fingertips? This is the advantage you enjoy when you connect a CMDB to the Service Desk. All the information about an Asset is automatically read from the CMDB and stored in the ticket. In addition, there are details about previous communication, emails, incident reports and much more. No queries, no delays. This is a service that customers both expect and appreciate.

Do you have one of these systems in use?

Deckblatt ITSM - 6 Schritte zur Einführung eines IT Service Management

6 Steps to Introducing IT Service Management

IT Service Management is to be introduced in your company. You don’t know yet how to approach the project and what is needed for it? Then this whitepaper will give you the most important hints and tips. In this second part of our ITSM series, we explain how to get through the project and select the right solutions.

ITSM in practice: A new server

The strength of the individual components of an ITSM tool lies in their integration. We will use a practical example to show you how the individual ITSM components work together. We will look at a section of a server lifecycle.

With i-doit, you can map the entire IMAC process chain. Managing the lifecycle of a server is significantly simplified by the possibilities offered by data integration. This allows you to shorten communication paths, enter data only once and optimise all IT operations.

Step 1: Basic documentation

When you order a new server, it is included in the IT documentation. This is primarily for capacity management purposes. You check whether follow-up orders for space, rack space, cabling, UPS, etc. may be necessary. You already document definable values (IP address, rack space). You do not need to consider deeper technical details at this stage. This is what network discovery is for later in the lifecycle.

Step 2: Delivery has taken place

This provides you with further information. You document this immediately. Delivery bill, supplier, invoice, warranty start and duration are data that you cannot collect automatically. However, you will need it. So include this data manually in the IT documentation as soon as possible. Remember the serial number. Use this to perform a mapping, which will be used by network discovery afterwards.

Step 3: Discovery provides the necessary details

You have installed the new server in the rack and put it into operation. Now it’s time for network discovery. During the next run of your discovery tool, the server is automatically found and its data is read out. Now information such as memory, hard disk capacity, operating system and patch level automatically flow into the documentation.

There is an enormous amount of detailed data in your network. With Discovery, you can transfer large parts of it into the CMDB. This greatly simplifies IT documentation.

Step 4: Monitoring in operational use

Maybe your new server serves as storage for important documents. Or you have assigned it the task of an email server. In any case, its task is so important that a failure would be critical. You need to be able to detect a failure as quickly as possible.

Now the monitoring can show its strengths. Data on the new server comes from the CMDB. As a result, your monitoring solution “knows” how to address the server. The monitoring tool continuously checks whether the server is accessible. The data obtained is added to the server in the CMDB.

Step 5: The Service Desk

The monitoring cannot reach the new server. This critical error is immediately reported by the system. You will see the error message immediately on the dashboard of your CMDB. However, more is happening in the background.

A new ticket is created automatically. This process is triggered by monitoring. The data about the server comes from the CMDB and is added directly to the ticket. The ticket is then assigned directly to the responsible technician. The technician now has all the important information available at a glance.

Once the technician has quickly resolved the incident, it is important to document it. This is also done automatically with ITSM. The entire ticket with all the information is stored in the CMDB in the Asset. If the same incident occurs again, a technician can look at the completed ticket again. The solution path for fixing the fault is immediately available.

You can see how well the seamless collaboration between the individual components of an ITSM tool works. Information is made usable across systems. Communication between systems and the IT department is enabled and faults can be resolved more quickly and efficiently.

IT processes as they should be: simple and efficient.

Deckblatt ITSM - IT Service Management mit der i-doit CMDB

IT Service Management with i-doit CMDB

You have already dealt with the topic of ITSM. You may already have monitoring or a service desk in place as a stand-alone solution. And now you want to move on to a complete ITSM solution? We’ll show you how this is possible with i-doit CMDB, what you need to get there and which solutions can help you succeed.

The ITSM management disciplines

In its current version of 2019, ITIL speaks of practices. In earlier versions, this was referred to as processes. The incident management process thus becomes the incident management practice.

ITIL 4 defines a total of 34 ITSM practices, which are divided into general management practices, service management practices and technical management practices.

Here are the most important practices for ITSM at a glance:

Incident Management
Incident Management is concerned with the management and tracking of incidents. These are incidents that result in an interruption to normal operations. By recording and managing incidents, incidents are detected more quickly (automated). Recovery time is shortened and customer satisfaction increases.

Problem Management
While Incident Management reacts reactively to disruptions in operations, Problem Management also proactively identifies potential disruptions. It is responsible for finding permanent solutions to problems.

Change Management
Change Management is responsible for implementing new structures, systems and processes. Every change to the IT infrastructure, services and processes must be planned and co-ordinated.

Service Request Management
Requests from users for a tool, information or advice should be organised centrally. This keeps approval, processing and delivery times as short as possible.

Change Control
The creation of standards to ensure that upgrades, developments and releases run as smoothly as possible.

Release Management
Planning, testing and contingency plans to facilitate the further development and improvement of services. This prevents any negative impact on business operations.

IT Asset Management
Collection of processes that simplify the management of all IT assets (software and hardware).

Availability Management
Ensures that the availability of an IT service agreed with the user is guaranteed.

Capacity and Performance Management
Organises all the resources required to deliver IT services in a timely and cost-effective manner.

What has ITIL got to do with ITSM?

If you deal with the topic of ITSM, you will inevitably come across the term “ITIL”. This is the “IT Infrastructure Library”. This collection of best practices for IT Service Management was developed in Great Britain in the 1980s. Today, ITIL in its fourth version is the quasi-standard for the implementation of an ITSM.

The terms ITSM and ITIL are often confused, but they are two different things. ITIL is a method for implementing an ITSM. But not every ITSM is based on ITIL.

Frameworks support you in using the appropriate procedures, people and technologies. They provide a collection of values, processes and strategies for implementing IT Service Management. And in addition to ITIL, there are numerous other models for this purpose.

COBIT
Framework for IT management. It is intended to provide a link between IT-specific frameworks such as ITIL and models from other areas of the company. This applies to COSO for financial reporting, for example.

Microsoft Operations Framework (MOF)
Standards and processes for creating, implementing and managing efficient and economical IT services.

Six Sigma
System for process improvement and quality management. Focuses on describing, measuring, analysing, improving, and monitoring processes through statistical means.

ISO 20000
International standard for Service Management. It defines the minimum requirements for processes that must be established in order to provide and manage IT services in a defined quality.

TOGAF
Structured standard for companies to organise and regulate software technologies.

Some companies use multiple frameworks to implement ITSM. And still others manage without a framework.

How you get to your ITSM is up to you. The path you choose should fit your business and your methods. You should only pay attention to the goal: efficient processes for the success of your company.

Our ITSM project partners

Logo Becon
Logo-FREICON-monitos
it novum logo
Sector Nord Logo
Logo Systemhaus-Dresden SHD

IT Service Management (ITSM)

Was ist IT Service Management?

IT Service Management (ITSM) vereint Richtlinien und Prozesse, um hochwertige IT-Services im Unternehmen einzuführen und zu verwalten. Es hilft, die Anforderungen des Unternehmens zu erfüllen. Durch die Definition und Steuerung von IT-Services steigt die Servicequalität. Damit bietet ITSM die bestmögliche Unterstützung zwischen IT-Abteilung und den Geschäftsprozessen.

IT Service Management basiert auf dem ITIL-Framework. Somit setzt es auf praxiserprobte Standards, um Services und Prozesse effizient zu gestalten. Dieses Rahmenwerk dient vor allem der Modellierung von Prozessen. Das Besondere: ITSM passt sich Ihren Abläufen an und nicht umgekehrt. In der Regel werden bestehende Prozesse durch die Einführung eines IT Service Managements optimiert. Und das durch alle Bereiche des Unternehmens.

ITSM hilft die IT-Ziele mit den Zielen des Unternehmens und dem Kundennutzen in Einklang zu bringen. Ein zentraler Punkt des IT Service Managements ist die ständige Verbesserung der Strukturen und Prozesse.

Vorteile eines IT Service Management

Die Einführung des IT Service Management in Ihrem Unternehmen bringt viele Vorteile. Vor allem gewährleistet es den reibungslosen Ablauf der Prozesse und die Qualität und Verfügbarkeit der IT-Services.

Die ITSM-Vorteile im Detail

  • IT-Services und die damit verbundenen Prozesse werden transparent.
  • Die Verfügbarkeit von Services wird stark erhöht.
  • Klar definierte Prozesse, die die Leistungsfähigkeit und Verfügbarkeit der IT-Services (automatisiert) sicherstellen.
  • Definierte Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten. Jeder im Unternehmen weiß, wer für welche Aufgaben zuständig ist. Das schafft Effizienz.
  • Die IT-Abteilung wird tiefer in das Unternehmen eingebunden. Sie weiß, was benötigt wird und warum.
  • Durch standardisierte Prozesse wird die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Abteilungen verbessert. Das führt zu einer höheren Effizienz und somit zu steigender Produktivität.
  • Störungen werden viel schneller entdeckt und behoben. Das spart Kosten und steigert nachhaltig die Zufriedenheit der Kunden.
  • Die Einführung eines ITSM ist ein unerlässlicher Schritt mit Blick auf eine Zertifizierung nach ISO 20000 & ISO 27001.
  • Durch die Definition von IT-Services sind Sie in der Lage diese zu vergleichen und ggf. durch kostengünstigere Varianten auszutauschen. Eine Auditierung der IT-Services und eine Senkung der Kosten werden erreichbar.
  • Durch die stetige Verbesserung der Services und Prozesse wird das Unternehmen deutlich leistungsfähiger. Es erlangt einen Vorteil gegenüber dem Wettbewerb.

Mit einem effizienten IT Service Management halten Sie Ihre IT-Services verfügbar, leistungsfähig und steigern die Zufriedenheit Ihrer Kunden und Mitarbeiter.

ITSM für einen Wettbewerbsvorteil mit echter Wertschöpfung

Das Portfolio an IT-Services wächst stetig. Neue Anforderungen werden an die IT-Abteilungen gestellt, die diese in rasantem Tempo realisieren und erfüllen muss. Aus welchen Bestandteilen (z.B. Verträgen, Personen, Systemen, Dienstleistern etc.) sich die implementierten Services am Ende zusammensetzen, ist unbekannt. Durch ITSM setzen Sie sich mit den angebotenen Services aktiv auseinander.

Durch die Nutzung von Monitoring und Discovery Tools werden Störungen schneller erkannt. Die Zeiten zur Wiederherstellung werden kürzer. Die geschäftskritischen Prozesse werden lauffähig gehalten. Mit einem effizienten ITSM wird mit der Behebung einer Störung begonnen, bevor diese von den Anwendern bemerkt wird.

Schneller und besser als die Konkurrenz. Ein Ziel, das oft genannt wird, wenn die Zufriedenheit der Kunden gesteigert werden soll. Mit einem IT Service Management verbessern Sie die interne und externe Kommunikation. Sie fassen Informationen zusammen und senken die Bearbeitungszeiten für Anfragen durch standardisierte Prozesse.

Durch die Kombination von effizienten Tools gelingt die Umsetzung eines IT Service Managements schnell und unkompliziert.

Deckblatt ITSM - Eine Einführung in die Welt des IT Service Management

Eine Einführung in die Welt des IT Service Management

Sie haben schon von ITSM gehört, wissen aber nicht, was sich dahinter verbirgt? Dann ist dieses Whitepaper genau richtig. In diesem ersten von drei Teilen der ITSM-Serie zeigen wir Ihnen, worum es sich bei ITSM handelt und welche Vorteile es hat. Sie lernen die Voraussetzungen kennen, um ein IT Service Management einzuführen und welche Schritte notwendig sind.

Tools für IT Service Management

Bei der Auswahl des ITSM-Tools legen wir Ihnen eine Regel ans Herz: ITSM ist nicht mit einer einzigen Software zu realisieren.

Sie werden schnell feststellen: Die Vereinigung verschiedener Systeme hat mehr Vorteile als die Verwendung einer einzigen Lösung. Warum?

Auf dem Markt finden Sie Systeme, die alles Notwendige vereinen. Der Vorteil ist klar: Sie betreuen eine Lösung und haben eine Anlaufstelle, wenn Sie Unterstützung benötigen. Der entscheidende Nachteil: Sie müssen sich auf einen einzigen Hersteller verlassen.

Gibt es Probleme in einer der Komponenten, ist das gesamte System davon betroffen. Und wenn eine der Anwendungen nicht Ihren Anforderungen entspricht, sind Sie im schlimmsten Falle zum Austausch des gesamten Systems gezwungen. Die Anforderungen an die IT ändern sich rasant. Es ist von Vorteil, eine maximale Flexibilität sicherzustellen.

Realisieren Sie eine Lösung aus Einzelsystemen, gewinnen Sie Unabhängigkeit und Flexibilität. Entspricht eine Lösung nicht Ihren Vorstellungen, tauschen Sie sie aus. Der Rest Ihres ITSM-Tools läuft unbeeinträchtigt weiter. Jede Einzelanwendung ist auf ihren Bereich optimal ausgerichtet, da jeder Hersteller sein gesamtes Know-How in dieses System investiert. Jede Lösung entfaltet ihr ganzes Potential. Sie verfügen über professionelle Werkzeuge, die gemeinsam ein zukunftsfähiges Setup darstellen.

ITSM ist nicht mit einer einzigen Lösung zu realisieren, sondern setzt sich aus verschiedenen Tools zusammen, die führend in Ihrer jeweiligen Disziplin sind.

Die CMDB

Sie ist der Kern des gesamten ITSM-Tools. In ihr sind alle Informationen zu den Assets hinterlegt: technische Daten, Services, Personen, Dokumente und vieles mehr. Sämtliche Informationen sind durch Abhängigkeiten und Beziehungen miteinander verknüpft. Alle anderen Teile der ITSM-Lösung greifen auf die Daten der CMDB zu oder aktualisieren sie. Ebenso können Informationen aus der CMDB an Dritt-Systeme übergeben werden.

IT- und Service-Monitoring

Die systematische Überwachung wichtiger Netzwerke und Systeme in Echtzeit ist unerlässlich. Wenn Sie Störungen und Ausfälle durch ein leistungsfähiges Monitoring sofort erkennen, reagieren Sie schnell und stellen die Verfügbarkeit der Systene und Services sicher. Idealerweise beheben Sie eine Störung, bevor die Anwender sie überhaupt bemerken.

Die Netzwerk-Discovery

Netzwerk-Discovery ist das Mittel der Wahl, um eine IT-Dokumentation initial mit Daten zu versorgen. Alle mit dem Netzwerk verbundenen Komponenten werden automatisch erkannt. Wichtige Informationen wie installierte Software, Seriennummern und IP-Adressen erhalten Sie gleich mitgeliefert. Der manuelle Aufwand für die Dokumentation entfällt zu einem großen Teil. Später, im laufenden Betrieb, werden Sie es zu schätzen wissen, das Sie Informationen zu Software und verwendeten Lizenzen nicht händisch pflegen müssen.

Der Service Desk

Wäre es nicht großartig, wenn ein Mitarbeiter im Kundensupport automatisch alle Informationen zu einem Vorgang zur Hand hätte? Diesen Vorteil genießen Sie, wenn Sie eine CMDB mit dem Service Desk verbinden. Alle Informationen zu einem Asset werden automatisch aus der CMDB ausgelesen und im Ticket hinterlegt. Hinzu kommen Angaben über die bisherige Kommunikation, E-Mails, Störungsmeldungen und vieles mehr. Keine Rückfragen, keine Verzögerung. Service, wie ihn Kunden erwarten und schätzen.

Haben Sie eines dieser Systeme im Einsatz?

Deckblatt ITSM - 6 Schritte zur Einführung eines IT Service Management

6 Schritte zur Einführung eines IT Service Management

In Ihrem Unternehmen soll ein IT Service Management eingeführt werden. Sie wissen noch nicht, wie Sie das Projekt angehen sollen und was dafür benötigt wird? Dann gibt Ihnen dieses Whitepaper die wichtigsten Hinweise und Tipps. In diesem zweiten Teil unserer ITSM-Serie erläutern wir Ihnen, wie Sie durch das Projekt kommen und die richtigen Lösungen auswählen.

ITSM in der Praxis: Ein neuer Server

Die Stärke der einzelnen Bestandteile eines ITSM-Tools liegt in deren Integration. Wir zeigen Ihnen Anhand eines Beispiels aus der Praxis, wie die einzelnen ITSM-Elemente zusammenarbeiten. Wir blicken dabei auf einen Ausschnitt aus einem Server-Lebenszyklus.

Mit i-doit bilden Sie die gesamte IMAC-Prozesskette ab. Das Management des Lebenszyklus eines Servers wird durch die Möglichkeiten, die sich durch die Datenintegration ergeben, bedeutend vereinfacht. Damit kürzen Sie Kommunikationswege ab, geben die Daten nur einmal ein und optimieren den IT-Betrieb.

Schritt 1: Die Basisdokumentation

Wenn Sie einen neuen Server bestellen, wird dieser in die IT-Dokumentation aufgenommen. Dies dient in erster Linie dem Kapazitätsmanagement. Sie kontrollieren, ob eventuell Folgebestellungen für Stellplatz, Rackplatz, Verkabelung, USV usw. nötig werden. Bereits definierbare Werte (IP-Adresse, Rackplatz) dokumentieren Sie jetzt schon. Tiefere technische Details müssen Sie zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch nicht betrachten. Dazu dient im späteren Lebenszyklus die Netzwerk-Discovery.

Schritt 2: Die Lieferung ist erfolgt

Damit stehen Ihnen weitere Informationen zur Verfügung. Diese dokumentieren Sie umgehend. Lieferschein, Lieferant, Rechnung, Garantiebeginn und -dauer sind Daten, die Sie nicht automatisiert erheben können. Sie werden sie jedoch benötigen. Also nehmen Sie diese Daten schnellstmöglich manuell in die IT-Dokumentation auf. Denken Sie an die Seriennummer. Anhand dieser führen Sie ein Mapping durch, welches nachher von der Netzwerk-Discovery genutzt wird.

Schritt 3: Discovery sorgt für die nötigen Details

Sie haben den neuen Server im Rack eingebaut und in Betrieb genommen. Nun schlägt die Stunde der Netzwerk-Discovery. Beim nächsten Lauf Ihres Discovery-Tools wird der Server automatisch gefunden und seine Daten ausgelesen. Nun fließen Informationen wie Speicher, Festplattenkapazität, Betriebssystem und Patchlevel automatisch in die Dokumentation.

In Ihrem Netzwerk liegt eine enorme Menge an detaillierten Daten. Mit der Discovery können Sie große Teile davon in die CMDB übernehmen. Das vereinfacht die IT-Dokumentation erheblich.

Schritt 4: Monitoring im operativen Betrieb

Vielleicht dient Ihr neuer Server als Speicher für wichtige Dokumente. Oder Sie haben Ihm die Aufgabe eines E-Mailservers zugedacht. In jedem Falle ist seine Aufgabe so bedeutsam, dass ein Ausfall kritisch wäre. Sie müssen in der Lage sein, eine Störung auf dem schnellsten Wege zu erkennen.

Nun kann das Monitoring seine Stärken ausspielen. Aus der CMDB kommen die Daten zum neuen Server. Dadurch “weiß” Ihre Monitoring-Lösung, wie sie den Server ansprechen kann. Kontinuierlich prüft das Monitoring-Tool, ob der Server erreichbar ist. Die gewonnenen Daten werden dem Server in der CMDB hinzugefügt.

Schritt 5: Der Service Desk

Das Monitoring kann den neuen Server nicht erreichen. Dieser kritische Fehler wird umgehend vom System gemeldet. Sie sehen die Fehlermeldung sofort auf dem Dashboard Ihrer CMDB. Im Hintergrund geschieht jedoch noch mehr.

Automatisch wird ein neues Ticket erzeugt. Angestoßen wird dieser Prozess vom Monitoring. Die Daten zum Server stammen aus der CMDB und werden dem Ticket direkt hinzugefügt. Anschließend wird das Ticket direkt dem zuständigen Techniker zugewiesen. Dieser hat nun alle wichtigen Informationen auf einen Blick verfügbar.

Nach einer schnellen Behebung durch den Techniker ist die Dokumentation des Incidents wichtig. Auch das geschieht mit einem ITSM automatisch. Das gesamte Ticket mit allen Informationen wird in der CMDB im Asset hinterlegt. Sollte die gleiche Störung erneut auftreten, kann sich ein Techniker das abgeschlossene Ticket erneut ansehen. Der Lösungsweg für die Behebung der Störung ist sofort verfügbar.

Sie sehen, wie gut die nahtlose Zusammenarbeit zwischen den einzelnen Teilen eines ITSM-Tools funktioniert. Informationen werden Systemübergreifend nutzbar gemacht. Die Kommunikation zwischen Systemen und der IT-Abteilung ermöglicht und Störungen können schneller und effizienter behoben werden.

IT-Prozesse, wie Sie sein sollen: einfach und effizient.

Deckblatt ITSM - IT Service Management mit der i-doit CMDB

IT Service Management mit der i-doit CMDB

Sie haben sich bereits mit dem Thema ITSM auseinander gesetzt. Sie haben vielleicht schon ein Monitoring oder einen Service Desk als Stand-alone-Lösung im Einsatz. Und nun wollen Sie zu einer vollständigen ITSM-Lösung gelangen? Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie das mit der i-doit CMDB möglich ist, was Sie dazu brauchen und welche Lösungen Sie zum Erfolg führen können.

Die ITSM Managementdisziplinen

ITIL spricht in seiner aktuellen Version von 2019 von Praktiken. In früheren Versionen war an dieser Stelle von Prozessen die Rede. Aus dem Incident Management Prozess wird so die Incident Management Praktik.

Insgesamt 34 ITSM-Praktiken definiert ITIL 4, die in allgemeine Management-Praktiken, Service-Management-Praktiken und technische Management-Praktiken gegliedert sind.

Die wichtigsten Praktiken für ITSM im Überblick

Incident Management: Das Incident Management befasst sich mit der Verwaltung und Nachverfolgung von Incidents. Das sind Vorfälle, die eine Unterbrechung des normalen Betriebs nach sich ziehen. Durch die Erfassung und Verwaltung von Incidents werden Störfälle schneller (automatisiert) erkannt. Die Dauer der Wiederherstellung wird verkürzt und die Kundenzufriedenheit steigt.

Problem Management: Während das Incident Management reaktiv auf Störungen im Betriebsablauf reagiert, identifiziert das Problem Management auch proaktiv potenzielle Störungen. Es ist für das Auffinden dauerhafter Problemlösungen verantwortlich.

Change Management: Das Change Management ist für die Umsetzung neuer Strukturen, Systeme und Prozesse verantwortlich. Jede Änderung an der IT-Infrastruktur, den Services und Prozessen, muss geplant und koordiniert werden.

Service Request Management: Anfragen von Anwendern nach einem Tool, Informationen oder Beratung sollen zentral organisiert werden. So werden Genehmigungs-, Bearbeitungs- und Lieferzeiten kurz gehalten.

Change Control: Das Schaffen von Standards, um Upgrades, Entwicklungen und Releases möglichst reibungslos durchzuführen.

Release Management: Planung, Prüfungen und Notfallpläne, um die Weiterentwicklung und Verbesserung von Services zu vereinfachen. So werden negative Auswirkungen auf den Geschäftsbetrieb verhindert.

IT Asset Management: Sammlung von Prozessen, die die Verwaltung sämtlicher IT-Assets (Soft- und Hardware) vereinfachen.

Availability Management: Sorgt dafür, dass die mit dem Anwender vereinbarte Verfügbarkeit eines IT-Services gewährleistet wird.

Capacity and Performance Management:  Organisiert alle notwendigen Ressourcen, um IT-Services zeitgerecht und wirtschaftlich ausgeliefert werden können.

Was hat ITIL mit ITSM zu tun?

Wenn Sie sich mit dem Thema ITSM beschäftigen, wird Ihnen unweigerlich der Begriff “ITIL” begegnen. Dabei handelt es sich um die “IT Infrastructure Library”. Diese Sammlung von Best Practices für das IT Service Management wurde in den 1980er Jahren in Großbritannien entwickelt. Heute ist ITIL in seiner vierten Version der Quasi-Standard für die Umsetzung eines ITSM.

Die Begriffe ITSM und ITIL werden häufig verwechselt, sie sind jedoch zwei unterschiedliche Dinge. ITIL ist eine Methode, um ein ITSM umzusetzen. Aber nicht jedes ITSM basiert auf ITIL.

Rahmenwerke, die sogenannten Frameworks, unterstützen Sie dabei, die jeweils geeigneten Verfahren, Menschen und Technologien einzusetzen. Sie bieten eine Sammlung von Werten, Prozessen und Strategien, um ein IT Service Management zu realisieren. Und neben ITIL existieren noch zahlreiche andere Modelle für diesen Zweck.

COBIT: Rahmenwerk für das IT-Management. Es soll eine Verbindung zwischen IT-spezifischen Frameworks wie ITIL und Modellen aus anderen Unternehmensbereichen herstellen. Das betrifft beispielsweise COSO für die Finanzberichterstattung.

Microsoft Operations Framework (MOF): Standards und Prozesse für die Erstellung, Implementierung und Verwaltung effizienter und wirtschaftlicher IT Services

Six Sigma: System zur Prozessverbesserung und für das Qualitätsmanagement. Der Fokus liegt auf Beschreibung, Messung, Analyse, Verbesserung und Überwachung von Prozessen mit statistischen Mitteln.

ISO 20000: Internationaler Standard für Service Management. Er definiert die Mindestanforderungen an Prozesse, die etabliert werden müssen, um IT-Services in definierter Qualität bereitzustellen und zu managen.

TOGAF: Strukturierter Standard für Unternehmen, um Software-Technologien zu organisieren und zu regeln.

Beginnen Sie Ihr ITSM-Projekt

Manche Unternehmen verwenden mehrere Frameworks, um ITSM einzuführen. Und wieder andere schaffen es ohne ein Framework. Wie Sie zu Ihrem IT Service Management kommen, bleibt Ihnen überlassen. Der Weg, den Sie wählen, sollte zu Ihrem Unternehmen und Ihren Methoden passen.

Achten sollten Sie nur auf das Ziel: effiziente Prozesse für den Erfolg Ihres Unternehmens.

Unsere ITSM Projektpartner

Logo Becon
Logo-FREICON-monitos
it novum logo
Sector Nord Logo
Logo Systemhaus-Dresden SHD

i-doit Whitepaper

Komprimiertes Wissen für Ihr erfolgreiches Dokumentationsprojekt

Cover 6 Schritte zur IT-Dokumentation
CMDB-E-Book von i-doit
Cover Change Mnagement
Deckblatt ITSM - IT Service Management mit der i-doit CMDB
Whitepaper Cover Service Desk