The Service Desk and the CMDB

Efficient support despite complex IT structures

The Service Desk supports companies in handling enquiries, processes and support services. Each process is created as a separate ticket in order to merge all communication for this process. This does not only apply to e-mail traffic, but also to telephone conversations, notes and documents. When a ticket is called up, all activities related to a process are in chronological order. This means that employees can quickly familiarise themselves with new processes if an employee is absent at short notice or support is required.

Download the Service Desk Whitepaper now

Cover Service Desk Whitepaper english
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden

A powerful team: Service Desk and CMDB

The connection of Service Desk and CMDB brings many advantages. The service desk is a step on the way to efficient digital processes in IT service management (ITSM). In our white paper you will learn everything about the topics “Service Desk”, “CMDB” and “IT documentation”. There you will also find important information and checklists.

Service Desk for technical support

The service desk is often used to handle support services. Customers can use it to open a new ticket after they have registered a fault. Either the ticket is delegated directly to a free employee in charge or the ticket ends up in a so-called ticket pool from which the service employees select a ticket and take it over. Here, too, the service desk benefits from the connection to the CMDB. Information on the status of systems, licences used and linked systems can be seen directly in the ticket. This can significantly reduce the processing time. Every ticket that has been linked to an asset is automatically linked in the IT documentation. Thus, all tickets, e.g. for a server, are listed chronologically in the IT documentation and are fully traceable. The chronological recording can also be easily realised via a service desk.

 

  • All information about a process is compiled in a ticket.
  • Asset information is directly visible in the ticket
  • Recording of processing times and response times (SLA)
  • Transfer of processes to colleagues and employees is significantly simplified
  • Efficient process design for improved service quality
  • Increased customer satisfaction through transparency and faster processing of cases
  • The reasons for changes to systems can be traced at any time

Service Desk for the control of internal processes

The service desk can also be used for internal communication or the handling of standardised processes. For this purpose, process templates can be used to define exactly which departments and persons are to be informed, which contents are specified and which approvals must be made. In this way, e.g. holiday requests, room bookings, material and resource requests, travel expenses or complaints can be handled easily.

  • Control of internal processes
  • Define and create standardised processes
  • Prioritisation of processes
  • Map releases and escalation levels
  • Resource management

Your IT documentation as the first point of contact for problem solving

One of the essential tasks of the service desk is to document and resolve incidents that occur. So what could be more practical than to have direct access to all the information associated with the corresponding system in the event of a malfunction? Ideally, you even have the initial configuration of a system component at your disposal, which you can simply import again. Or at least you know who the contact person is who can help you with more complex questions.

Channelling routine service requests

Many service requests result from planned and thus foreseeable changes or updates. It is therefore only logical that the person responsible for the service desk also uses this tool to inform employees in advance about (maintenance) work. Once they have been informed, many tickets become superfluous. And the time saved here can of course be used to get the systems up and running again as quickly as possible.

Document communication sustainably

Ideally, the service desk acts as a single point of contact in communication with the internal (e.g. department or employee) or external customer. This is where all enquiries converge. Answers take the same route back to the questioner. This process ensures maximum transparency, increases efficiency and reduces further enquiries to a minimum. Thus, it is in the interest of all parties to maintain a smooth and, above all, clearly defined communication flow.

The doITbetter Conference 2021

Der Service Desk und die CMDB

Effektive Unterstützung trotz komplexer IT-Strukturen

Der Service Desk unterstützt Unternehmen bei der Abwicklung von Anfragen, Vorgängen und Supportleistungen. Dabei wird jeder Vorgang als separates Ticket angelegt, um jegliche Kommunikation zu diesem Vorgang zusammenzuführen. Dies betrifft jedoch nicht nur den E-Mail-Verkehr, sondern auch Telefongespräche, Notizen und Dokumente werden erfasst. Beim Aufruf eines Tickets stehen somit sämtliche Aktivitäten zu einem Vorgang in einer chronologischen Reihenfolge. Dadurch können sich Mitarbeiter sehr schnell in neue Vorgänge einarbeiten, sollten ein Mitarbeiter kurzfristig ausfallen oder Unterstützungsleistung gefordert sein.

Jetzt das Service Desk Whitepaper herunterladen

Whitepaper Cover Service Desk
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
    MM Schrägstrich TT Schrägstrich JJJJ

Ein starkes Team: Service Desk und CMDB

Die Verbindung von Service Desk und CMDB bringt viele Vorteile mit sich. Denn der Service Desk ist ein Schritt auf dem Weg zu effizienten digitalen Prozesse im IT Service Management (ITSM). In unserem Whitepaper erfahren Sie alles rund um die Themen “Service Desk”, “CMDB” und “IT-Dokumentation”. Dort finden Sie auch wichtige Informationen und Checklisten.

Service Desk für den technischen Support

Oft wird der Service Desk zur Abwicklung von Support Dienstleistungen eingesetzt. Über Ihn können Kunden, nachdem Sie eine Störung registriert haben, ein neues Ticket eröffnen. Entweder wird das Ticket direkt an einen freien zuständigen Mitarbeiter delegiert oder das Ticket landet in einem sogenannten Ticketpool, aus dem sich die Servicemitarbeiter ein Ticket auswählen und dieses übernehmen. Auch hier profitiert der Service Desk durch die Anbindung an die CMDB. Informationen zum Status von Systemen, genutzten Lizenzen und verknüpften Systemen sind direkt im Ticket ersichtlich. Dadurch kann die Bearbeitungszeit deutlich reduziert werden. Jedes Ticket, das mit einem Asset verknüpft wurde, wird automatisch in der IT-Dokumentation verknüpft. Somit sind alle Tickets z.B. zu einem Server in der IT-Dokumentation chronologisch aufgelistet und vollständig nachverfolgbar. Auch die Zeitliche Erfassung kann über einen Service Desk problemlos realisiert werden.

 

  • Alle Informationen zu einem Vorgang werden in einem Ticket zusammengestellt
  • Asset Informationen sind direkt im Ticket ersichtlich
    Erfassung von Bearbeitungszeiten und Reaktionszeiten (SLA)
  • Übergabe von Vorgängen an Kollegen und Mitarbeiter wird deutlich vereinfacht
  • Effiziente Prozessgestaltung zur verbesserten Servicequalität
  • Erhöhte Kundenzufriedenheit durch Transparenz und schnellere Bearbeitung von Vorgängen
  • Die Gründe für Änderungen an Systemen können zu jeder Zeit nachvollzogen werden

Service Desk für die Steuerung interner Vorgänge

Der Service Desk kann auch für die interne Kommunikation oder die Abwicklung standardisierter Vorgänge genutzt werden. Dazu kann über Prozessvorlagen genau definiert werden, welche Abteilungen und Personen informiert werden, welche Inhalte vorgegeben sind und Freigaben erfolgen müssen. Dadurch können z.B. Urlaubsanträge, Raumbuchungen, Material- und Ressourcenanforderungen, Reisekosten oder Reklamationen einfach abgewickelt werden.

 

  • Steuerung interner Vorgänge
  • Standardisierte Prozesse definieren und erstellen
  • Priorisierung von Vorgängen
  • Freigaben und Eskalationsstufen abbilden
  • Ressourcenmanagement

Ihre IT-Dokumentation als erste Anlaufstelle zur Problemlösung

Eine der essentiellen Aufgaben des Service Desks besteht darin, auftauchende Incidents zu dokumentieren und zu lösen. Was wäre also praktischer, als im Falle einer Betriebsstörung direkt auf alle mit dem entsprechenden System verbundenen Informationen zurückzugreifen. Im Idealfall steht Ihnen sogar die initiale Konfiguration einer Systemkomponente zur Verfügung, die Sie einfach wieder einspielen können. Oder Sie wissen zumindest, wer der Ansprechpartner ist, der Ihnen bei komplexeren Fragestellungen weiterhelfen kann.

Routinemäßige Serviceanfragen kanalisieren

Viele Serviceanfragen ergeben sich aus geplanten und somit absehbaren Änderungen oder Aktualisierungen. Somit ist es nur logisch, wenn der Verantwortliche für das Service Desk dieses Tool auch nutzt, um Mitarbeiter im Vorfeld über (Wartungs-)Arbeiten zu informieren. Einmal darüber in Kenntnis gesetzt, erübrigen sich viele Tickets von allein. Und die Zeit, die hier eingespart wird, lässt sich natürlich dafür einsetzen, die Systeme so schnell wie möglich wieder lauffähig zu machen.

Kommunikation nachhaltig dokumentieren

Im Idealfall fungiert der Service Desk als Single Point of Contact in der Kommunikation mit dem internen (z.B. Abteilung oder Mitarbeiter) oder externen Kunden. Hier laufen alle Anfragen zusammen. Antworten nehmen denselben Weg zurück zum Fragesteller. Dieser Prozess gewährt ein Höchstmaß an Transparenz, steigert die Effizienz und reduziert weitere Anfragen auf ein Minimum. Somit ist es im Interesse aller Beteiligten, einen reibungslosen und vor allem eindeutig definierten Kommunikationsfluss zu wahren.